1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

IBAMA Website Navigation Tips


The Brazilian Institute for the Environment and Renewable Natural Resources (IBAMA - Instituto Brasileiro do Meio Ambiente e dos Recursos Naturais Renováveis) provides important information about conservation areas and wildlife in Brazil on their official website.

April 3, 2008, update:

In August 2007, the Brazilian government created Instituto Chico Mendes de Conservação da Biodiversidade (ICMBIO), an institute whose main function is to manage the country's federal conservation units. All the relevant information about federal conservation units (Unidades de Conservação in Portuguese, or UCs) has been transferred from the newly remodeled Ibama website to the ICMBIO website.

Now, this is what you need to do to view information about federal conservation units in Brazil:

  • Go to the ICMBIO home page.
  • In the green bars to the left, click on Unidades de Conservação.
  • The Conservation Units have been divided into Full Protection Units, which must be preserved from human interference as much as possible, and Sustainable Use Units, in which human activities can be carried out in accordance with the preservation of renewable resources and in a socially fair manner. Click on Proteção Integral or Uso Sustentável, respectively.

Under Unidades de Conservação de Proteção Integral, you will find links to 126 conservation units:

  • Ecological Stations
  • Biological Reservations
  • National Parks
  • Natural Monuments
  • Wildlife Refuges

Make sure to browse the list of Parques Nacionais. Brazil has 62 National Parks and here's information about almost all of them, with the exception of a few profiles still under construction. There are links to several park websites; the symbols will help you get to photos and maps; to the far right, you will find the state abbreviation and the year the park was created.

Under Unidades de Conservação de Uso Sustentável, you will find the listings for Brazil's 166 Sustainable Use Conservation Units, subdivided into:

  • Environment Protection Areas (APAs)
  • Areas of Notable Ecological Interest
  • National Forests
  • Extractivist Reservations
  • Fauna Reservations
  • Sustainable Development Reservations
  • Private Natural Heritage Reservations

For example, click on Florestas Nacionais- Brazil's National Forests, also known as Flonas. There are 74 of them. The listing is divided by regions: Centro-Oeste, Nordeste, Norte, Sudeste and Sul (Central-West, Northeast, North, Southeast and South).

See More About

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.